Early Wright Award


Early Wright Blues Heritage Award

This award honors Mr. Early Wright, "The Soul Man" of WROX radio who
became Mississippi's first African American radio DJ in 1947.  Early Wright
was the symbolic leader of the annual Sunflower River Blues & Gospel Festival
and  the Early Wright Award has been presented each year at the Festival during
August since 1991.  This award is presented to a non-musician for outstanding work
to "preserve, promote, perpetuate, and document blues in the Mississippi Delta."

WROX1.jpg (45335 bytes)      Plaque.jpg (36838 bytes)      Wrox2.jpg (39476 bytes)

Early Wright was born on February 10, 1915 in Jefferson, MS and died
on December 10, 1999 in Memphis, TN. Facts about Mr. Wright:  Moved to
Clarksdale in 1937; was a farmer; learned to drive a train; was a mechanic;
was a manager of a Gospel  group; was hired by Buck Hinman, manager
of WROX; interviewed Elvis, Muddy Waters, BB King, Bobby Rush,
Ike Turner, Tina Turner, Sonny Boy Williamson, Robert Nighthawk,
Little Milton, Pinetop Perkins, Rufus Thomas, and Charley Pride; profiled on
CBS, ABC, and CNN; written up in The Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Constitution,
and The Washington Post; an Early Wright scholarship was established
at the University of Mississippi in 1988.

WROX628Desoto.jpg (41985 bytes)

WROX-AM is the oldest Radio Station in Northwest Mississippi.
The Station opened on June 2, 1944 with 250 watts broadcasting from 321 Delta
Avenue in Clarksdale, MS.  The station moved to 257 Delta Avenue in 1946 and
remained there for nine years until moving to the Alcazar Hotel in 1955.
The station remained within the Hotel until 1980.
After additional moves, in 2005 WROX relocated to 628 Desoto Avenue.

Bubba2.jpg (21300 bytes)

Kinchen H. O'Keefe Jr. purchased the Hopson Building in 1999 and "Bubba"
maintains the WROX Museum at 257 Delta Avenue.  The first floor has
a display of early radios and the second floor has a recording studio.

Booth1.jpg (38940 bytes)    WROXMuseum1.jpg (24680 bytes)    BubbaPoint.jpg (39004 bytes)    WROXMuseum2.jpg (42292 bytes)

Booth2.jpg (35473 bytes)    Poster1981.jpg (29647 bytes)    BoyCards.jpg (24146 bytes)    Poster1999.jpg (24607 bytes)

Bubba1.jpg (16909 bytes)    PosterOld.jpg (28555 bytes)    SignAce.jpg (40078 bytes)

Early Wright Award Winners

1991 Early Wright - The Soul Man d 12-10-1999
1992 Raymond "Skip" Henderson, music promoter & historian
1993 Sidney F. Graves Jr, founder Delta Blues Museum d 1-9-2005
1994 Jim O'Neal, founder Rooster Blues Records
1995 Panny Flautt Mayfield, journalist, writer
1996 Lillian McMurry (Shedd), founder Trumpet Records d 3-18-1999
1997 John Anton Ruskey, Delta Blues Museum Curator
1998 Johnnie Billington, Master Blues teacher d 4-1-2013
1998 William Howard Stovall IV, Blues Foundation Director
1999 Lewellyn L. Houston, Festival promoter
2000 Mae Smith, Delta Blues Museum specialist
2001 Yvonne M. Stanford, Sunflower Blues secretary
2002 Sam & Doris Carr, Delta Blues members Sam d 9-21-2009 Doris d 11-13-2008
2003 Frank 'Rat' Ratliff, owner Riverside Hotel d 3-28-2013
2003 Sonny Payne, host of King Biscuit Time KFFA d 2-9-2018
2004 Catherine Clark, Treasurer Sunflower Blues Association
2005 Nathan J. Mullen Attorney, Sunflower Festival Chairman
2006 Leroy 'Red' Paden, owner Red's Lounge
2007 John Sherman, Attorney
2008 Steve Ladd - Radio Veteran d 7-20-2008
2009 Rita M. Marascalo long-time Blues Patron
2010 Wade Fondren
2011 Shelly Ritter, Blues Museum Director
2012 ???
2013 Roger Stolle, owner Cathead Store
2014 Harold Pontez
2015 Bill Gresham & Dorothy(Ginger) V. Johnson
2016 Paul Wilson, Owner WROX
2017 Charles Douglas Musslewhite, Musician
2018 James Johnson, Musician
2019 Anthony Ray Stafford, Blues Museum Staff d 6-2-2019
2020 cancelled 2020
2021 Samuel Davis
2022 Lyceum Committee of Coahoma Community College

EWearly.jpg (120962 bytes)    EWsidG.jpg (139041 bytes)    EWoneal.jpg (136372 bytes)    Panny1995.jpg (22919 bytes)

EWlil.jpg (79154 bytes)    JRuskey1997.jpg (30403 bytes)    Billington1998.jpg (23320 bytes)    EWhowardS.jpg (100020 bytes)

EWyvonneS.jpg (101703 bytes)    Carrs2002.jpg (23292 bytes)    RatWrightAward.jpg (26820 bytes)    Rat2003.jpg (28645 bytes)

SPayne2003.jpg (90488 bytes)    Clark.jpg (19869 bytes)    RedWrightAward.jpg (29797 bytes)    Sherman2007.jpg (25664 bytes)

Ladd2008.jpg (31816 bytes)    Rita2009.jpg (26009 bytes)    SHELLEYRITTER3.jpg (66182 bytes)

RogerS.jpg (55136 bytes)    HaroldPontez.jpg (43306 bytes)    EWbillG.jpg (152870 bytes)    EWginger.jpg (108038 bytes)

EWpaulWilson.jpg (100901 bytes)    EWcharley.jpg (103811 bytes)    James J2018.jpg (97416 bytes)    AnthonyRaySaffold.jpg (92796 bytes)

Back to "Events-Early Wright Award" page

Copyright 1998-2020 MojoRat LLC. All rights reserved.